Quicksand

I am taking a quick break from the prayer series so that I don’t cut short the good developing habit of posting regularly. It amazes me how quickly I can be stripped of thoughtfulness in the day-to-day repetitions of my life. A few six-day work weeks in a row, a little too much cinematic entertainment, not enough sleep, and crappy eating habits generally leave me feeling empty, frazzled, and worn out even when I haven’t been doing much in the way of contribution or contemplation. I’ve seen a few movies, read some bad fan fiction, scraped by in doing the bare minimum to meet my extracurricular obligations, and listened to Mumford and Sons’ “Little Lion Man” on repeat for days. I’ve prayed the liturgy with people a few times, read enough Scripture to teach it once, barely kept up with some soul-feeding blogs, and done a little short-cut stretching and yoga. All in all, not my best season (or my worst).

So here’s a question: what do you do when you feel stuck in the quicksand of the mundane? How do you pull yourself out of it? It is really as simple as changing habits, or is there more? Okay, maybe more than a few questions…

2 Comments

  1. May 18, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    The other day, I read a post by Don Miller entitled Life Happens While You’re Doing Something Else. I found it helpful, because I feel like I’ve been struggling with the same sort of thing that you’re describing here. Just the “bleh” of life, and nothing really transcendent. Or, so it feels right now. For me, I want some major design or writing project to be working on. A new game, or maybe a renewed blogging career. You know, something that pulls me out of the ordinary.

    Makes me think about Ordinary Time, which is the longest stretch of the church calendar, if I’m remembering correctly. Nothing in particular is happening, no special feasts or fasts. Just the regular plodding of life.

    But what I’m learning right now is that God is still at work in those stretches of life, and that the ordinary “bleh” of life can somehow also be transcendent.

    Don’t ask me how; I’m still figuring this one out myself.

    Also, sometimes the quicksand is the result of stress and fatigue. In those times, it’s okay to pull back and get some more sleep. (I’m still trying to figure that one out, too. 😀 )

    • MandyK said,

      May 19, 2011 at 12:57 pm

      I have thought about the “season” of ordinary time. In the past I’ve been able to respond well to the idea of, as you put it, transcending the bleh of life. For some reason lately, though, I haven’t been able to get there. There are some significant weights chained to me that seem to be draining my ability to do the work I need to do in order to come to that place. Part of the burden of being very emotional and sensitive is that not feeling any motivation or connection leaves me feeling the opposite – lethargic and abandoned. Then it’s a matter of choice, choosing to believe that God is telling the truth when He says He is always near, that He is entering into Eucharistic communion with me, that He won’t break a bruised reed. Maybe I just need a Wesley to dive in after me, pull me out, and protect me from the ROUS’s 😉


Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

28 and Counting

I turned 28 and was a little overwhelmed, so I started a blog.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

