My Favorite Cliche

I love New Year’s Eve. I love the feeling of a fresh start, new beginnings, a chance to come up for air in the cesspool of this year’s failures and figure out if I’ve learned anything, grown, or tripped upon an idea for how to do so in the next twelve months. For some reason my melancholy disposition lightens up and dares to hope for change when the calendar teeters on the edge of a new year. I remember the power and vitality of grace that blasts through the artificial walls and heals the wounds that have resulted from the previous year’s battles.

I love the concepts of renewal, of transformation, of hope. I attended a church for a while that did a “reboot” for the first week of every year, cancelling regular services and events to make time for prayer, worship, and night services for the first seven evenings of the new year. That idea of rebooting seems so appropriate in a tech-y age like ours.

This has been one of the harder years I can remember staggering through in my adult life. I’ve discovered lately that I have very little mental, emotional, or spiritual space with which to respond to my world. I have become reactionary, slow, full of viruses and bugs and completely irrelevant information. A reboot seems called for to clear out the garbage and find some space again.

So, I have planned my own personal reboot next week. The schedule looks something like a mix of a monastic retreat, spa weekend, vegan detox, and tourist trek through the cultural mecca that is Peoria. I’ve planned menus and massage, exercises and excursions, chores and chats. I plan on doing a lot of writing, a lot of reading, and a lot of sleeping. I won’t be drinking coffee, so people will likely avoid me for at least the first few days (I am, after all, a better person when I drink coffee). I’ll be spending stretches each day praying through all of the static in my heart and mind, refreshing my memory of Scripture and wisdom that used to center and steady me.

2011 has been one of my least favorite years, though some great things have happened along the way. I hope that dedicating this next week to King and Kingdom will prepare me for a more hopeful, joyful, and peaceful 2012. If you know me, pray for me this week and know that I will be mostly out of touch. If you don’t, well, pray for me anyway. I will be posting throughout the week. Here’s to the hope of things made new.

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. January 1, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    This sounds like a wonderful idea and is similar to what Crystal and I are planning on doing for a large stretch of 2012. Because, yeah, our assessment of 2011 is pretty much the same as yours. 🙂


Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

28 and Counting

I turned 28 and was a little overwhelmed, so I started a blog.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

