My Life as a Montage

I love movie montages, especially in any story that involves a character’s major life change. From Bridget Jones’ Diary to Karate Kid to the eleven or so in You’ve Got Mail, there’s something inspiring about the perfect song playing over the highlights of action a person takes to become something better than they are. It’s a picture of metamorphosis with The Cranberries cheering you on.

Sometimes I think if I just had the perfect soundtrack I would be ready to speed through my own life-change montage. Only I always run into a major obstacle. It seems that in the flash of time between scenes in a montage, everything slows down to real-time and the character’s actually expected to do things. And to wait. And to slip up and have to start again. Since I don’t have a scriptwriter or camera crew getting me through life, I have to actually live out the spaces between scenes.

I hope this season becomes a montage kind of time in my life. I hope I find the perfect tunes. I hope I get back into yoga and healthy eating. I hope guitar lessons keep going well and that my weekly writing date produces some good stuff. I hope I can find that contemplative space inside again. I hope I remember how to love Jesus with everything in me, and I become a better friend. I hope I learn to draw. More than anything, though, I hope I find the courage and the strength to reject the slothfulness that’s come from years of struggle and embrace every part of creating a montage.

Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

28 and Counting

I turned 28 and was a little overwhelmed, so I started a blog.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

