Good Day

Here are some highlights from the past 30 hours:

  • Started, and finished, “Farenheit 451.” A bit over-the-top with the poetic descriptions at times, it was nonetheless an amazing cultural critique and reminder that stopping, smelling, seeing, hearing, listening, learning, and knowing each other are all blessings to be enjoyed and even obligations to be fulfilled if we really want to live the life given us.
  • Took a train. I love taking the train.
  • Walked the streets of Chicago on my own for the first time 🙂 Quite a city. While I am clearly not a native (I fall over on the subway and make eye contact with the homeless), Lauren loves this place and so I am learning to.
  • Helped a teenage couple name their neon green stuffed spider toy on the subway. Brochagon will one day rule the world, my friends.
  • Made friends with a hipster waiter/barista at 3rd Coast, bonding over metalworking/jewelry making, music, rose wine, and Vonnegut.
  • Spent dinner face-to-face with one of my dearest friends
  • Slept in
  • Shopped Lush-I really love giving them my money. Made friends with several of the staff and got the whole scoop on their fragrance “Breath of God.”
  • Ghirardeli hot chocolate with sea salted caramel-it’s an Easter basket in a cup
  • A real, live Urban Outfitters! I’ve only ever shopped them online. Found an awesome messenger bag on crazy sale, and Lauren snuck a gift purchase for me-an owl bottle opener 🙂
  • Scalding hot bath with a Lush bath bomb and the start of “Ender’s Game” by Orson Scott Card

Which brings us current. I am heading out to the art museum before Lauren gets off work and we head to Orland Park for a Trader Joe’s stop on the way to seeing Josh Garrels tonight. This is what they call a good day.

1 Comment

  1. Seth Ben-Ezra said,

    April 22, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Have I mentioned that both Fahrenheit 451 and Ender’s Game are two of my favorite books?

    Glad you’re having a good time! I totally forgot that you were traveling this week and was wondering where you were at church today. Duh.


Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

Christina Hite

Making a difference in my corner of the world

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

