Midday Prayer: To be used with prayer beads

Following is a set of prayers adapted from the Midday Prayer in “Common Prayer: A Liturgy for Ordinary Radicals” that can be used with Protestant prayer beads. If you are unfamiliar with the use of prayer beads and would like to learn more, just let me know!

OPENING PRAYERS
The Cross

In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.
The Invitiatory
In You I live and move and have my being. So guide and govern me by Your Holy Spirit that in all the cares and occupations of my life I may not forget You, but may remember that I am every walking in Your sight. Amen.

REPEATED PRAYERS
The Cruciforms
Draw me into your love, Christ Jesus, and deliver me from fear
The Weeks
Set One:
Lord, make me an instrument of Your peace
Where there is hatred, let me sow love
Where there is injury, pardon
Where there is doubt, faith
Where there is despair, hope
Where there is darkness, light
Where there is sadness, joy

Set Two:
Grant that I may not so much see to be consoled as to console
To be understood as to understand
To be loved as to love
For it is in giving that we receive
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned
It is in dying that we are born to eternal life
Lord, make me an instrument of Your peace

Set Three:
Soul of Christ, sanctify me
Body of Christ, save me
Blood of Christ, inebriate me
Water from the side of Christ, wash me
Passion of Christ, strengthen me
O good Jesus, hear me
Within Your wounds hide me

Set Four:
Suffer me not to be separated from You
From the malicious enemy defend me
In the hour of my death call me
Bid me come to You
That with Your saints I may praise You
Fragrance of Christ, be spread through me
By my life and by my prayers may Your kingdom come

CLOSING PRAYERS
The Final Cruciform
Come Holy Spirit. I pray that your fruit would be in me: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.
The Invitiatory
Our Father…
The Cross
Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be forever. Amen.

Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

28 and Counting

I turned 28 and was a little overwhelmed, so I started a blog.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

