On and on and on

Recently, during some bad winter weather, I was stuck in a traffic jam that looked to be caused by an “inexperienced” driver.” From what I could see the accident had been a matter of too much speed and not enough care on a turn. The effect was miles of stopped traffic on a major vein in the city as police tried to clear up the mess as quickly and safely as they could.

I was in a pensive mood when I got into my car, so this time in the car became a good time for musing. I started thinking about the ripple effects of sin in my life. So often I think of sin as a personal burden, something that touches the sinner and maybe a handful of others. But I’m not so sure that is true. Years ago I was in an abusive relationship. The damage done to me personally was deep and has been long-lasting. But it didn’t end with me. My resulting brokenness led to an inability to maintain certain friendships because of the other person’s continued friendship with the other person. I’ve met a few guys since then, and have often behaved with anger or defensiveness or hurt that had way more to do with my ex than the person I was actually interacting with. I’ve given bad advice to others out of hurt or skepticism or bitterness. God has done much to heal me, and I continue to seek to forgive and be forgiven for that terrible season of life. But the ripple effect of my relationship with my ex has spread much wider than I would ever have imagined.

I wonder how many of my sins have had the same ripple effect in someone else’s world. I am rude or testy or short with someone, which pushes them over the edge and leads to a fight with someone at home, which leads to another argument with someone else, or any other of a number of reactions. Seeing my sin from this perspective makes it all seem much more…selfish. Grave. Destructive.

And yet, I wonder if the same could be true of goodness. If light could spread as easily as darkness. What happens if I really try to bring love or joy or peace to every individual in my day? What happens if I speak good things to other people, if I compliment, or praise someone, or admire them? What if a little positive gossip changes the perspective of the person I’m talking with, who then changes their attitude toward someone, which shines a little needed affirmation into that person’s life? We are all desperate for love, for affirmation. We soak up words of kindness and compliment like sponges; for many of us this need is as fundamental as our need for air.

What if I sought to create ripples of kind words all around me? Would I find myself enveloped by them as well? I wonder how far the effects could spread…

Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

Christina Hite

Making a difference in my corner of the world

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

