Falling for Strangers

I fall in love with someone new almost every day. Last weekend it was the angsty steel guitarist with whom I apparently share a late night Netflix habit. Tuesday it was a gorgeous eyed doctor from India. Last night it was a girl playing piano with a voice strong as a storm. I’ve fallen in love with peacemakers and soldiers, authors and singers, even a few jocks and one engineer (that I know of – I often never even meet the objects of my affection). Truth be told, I’ve probably fallen in love with you at some point. Sometimes it wears off as soon as you are out of sight. Some of you I’ve been in love with for decades.

I used to think this fickleness indicated some character flaw. I’ve never been able to define my “type” for friends, and my feelings of infatuation range from mild interest to intense curiosity. I have found that people are immensely more complicated than they seem. My experiences with online dating were stressful because I felt like I was shopping for a guy and there’s so much more than what you can show through the storefront window. So infinitely much more.

I’m learning, though, that my capacity for falling in love may not be such a weakness. I see worth in every person I meet. You are beautiful. And interesting. And your story is worth hearing. I wish I could draw out of people the beauty within them the way I’ve seen others do, but for now I want to explore what it means to at least be able to see it.

So I may come across as a little…intense. But I would rather feel awkward and have risked basking in some of your glory than hide in my socially appropriate shell and never experience all the gifts God is sending me in you. So I’m not embarrassed about falling in love with strangers, or with you. Because my deepest longing is to fall more in love with God and maybe he’s showing me another glimpse of Himself through you. So thanks for letting that bit of yourself shine; it’s helped me find you. And myself. And God.

4 Comments

  1. Vicky said,

    August 12, 2013 at 8:55 am

    Love this thought. And your new pic.

  2. October 16, 2013 at 8:06 am

    […] restaurant, and I fell in love with a different boy who worked there (I fell in love a lot; still do). This time I wrote a personal manifesto. It was called “Love” and it was about my […]

  3. August 18, 2014 at 12:46 am

    […] written a lot on this blog about ways I’ve loved, falling in love,  being loved and over the past few years specifically the idea of loving with urgency. This last […]


Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

Christina Hite

Making a difference in my corner of the world

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

