I’ve Loved You

Credit: Amir Yalon on Flickr via Creative Commons

Credit: Amir Yalon on Flickr via Creative Commons

 

I’ve loved you to garner your love in return, indebting you to me.

I’ve loved you out of obligation, with a sigh of tedium.

I’ve loved you because you remind me of my father,

Because you don’t remind me of my mother.

I’ve loved you in word while despising you in my heart.

I’ve loved you to own you, because possessing you fills a gap and makes me feel whole

For a little while.

I’ve loved you out of habit, going through motions of affection with no fire underneath.

I’ve loved you because of what I’m not, because you are what I hope to be.

I’ve loved you from my greed, my envy, and my lust,

And all the other deadly places in my soul.

 

But I’ve also loved you because you are beautiful,

Because you create beauty,

Because you draw beauty out of the world around you.

I’ve loved you because I see Jesus in your eyes when you look at me.

I’ve loved you because you are safe, you are good, you are kind.

I’ve loved you because in all your messy brokenness you make me weep at the divinity that pours through the cracks of your facade,

Spilling light in jagged rays across my face.

I’ve loved you because I see the world, and God, and myself through your eyes

And all of it is good.

You are good.

You make me good.

Thank you for allowing me to love you, clumsy and selfish as that love may be.

 

Love gives naught but itself and takes naught but from itself. Love possesses not nor would it be possessed; for love is sufficient unto love.

Love has no other desire but to fulfill itself. But if you love and must needs have desires, let these be your desires: To melt and be like a running brook that sings its melody to the night. To know the pain of too much tenderness. To be wounded by your own understanding of love; and to bleed willingly and joyfully.

~ Kahlil Gibran, “The Prophet”

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. August 18, 2014 at 12:46 am

    […] written a lot on this blog about ways I’ve loved, falling in love,  being loved and over the past few years specifically the idea of loving with […]


Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

28 and Counting

I turned 28 and was a little overwhelmed, so I started a blog.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

