My Crush on Zooey Deschanel

Photo: Blur95 on Flickr via Creative Commons

Photo: Blur95 on Flickr via Creative Commons

I am obsessed with the show “New Girl.” Specifically, I love that awkward and girlie can make an award-winning show. Gives me some hope in the world, as an awkward yet girlie girl myself. And the fact that Jess, the main character, carries so much of the comedy without acting like a dude is very refreshing. I was so disappointed in the film “Bridesmaids” specifically because I thought it was going to be a women’s comedy, but it was really a movie of women acting like men.

Recently I watched a short clip (or maybe all of the series) of Zooey Deschanel talking about her role in the show, and it begins with the idea that it is sexist to say that a woman who dresses or acts in a certain way isn’t strong. Let’s all take a moment to acknowledge that women come in all sorts of styles: stay at home moms, career chasers, funny, stoic, chipper, melancholy, Betty Crocker, Lucille Ball, slender, stocky, curvy. Some can cook, some can’t boil water. Some love dresses, others are all about the denim. Some love flowers, others would rather have a new tool set. We have to give each other space to express femininity differently, in ways that reflect who we are as women rather than our best attempts to mimic what we think we should be.

The fact that “New Girl” fronts a quirky, likable, uber-feminine main character who is able to act like a girl and still get the laughs, is encouraging. Her character embodies some of the best things about being a girl, without much of the stereotypical junk that usually accompanies such a character. So there you have it. Why I have a crush on Zooey Deschanel. And why you should, too.

5 Comments

  1. Adiel said,

    November 26, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    I love this line from the show. I think it sums up nicely what you’re talking about:

    “I brake for birds. I rock a lot of polka dots. I have touched glitter in the last 24 hours. I spend my entire day talking to children. And I find it fundamentally strange that you’re not a dessert person. That’s just weird, and it freaks me out. And I’m sorry I don’t talk like Murphy Brown. And I hate your pantsuit. I wish it had ribbons on it or something to make it just slightly cuter. And that doesn’t mean I’m not smart and tough and strong.”

    Oh, yeah. Makes me smile. Love it. 🙂

    • MandyK said,

      November 26, 2013 at 5:55 pm

      This is THE PERFECT quote to illustrate everything I wanted to say! Thanks for blogging better than me on my blog!!!

  2. November 27, 2013 at 10:29 am

    You do realize that a Zooey Deschanel crush makes you a hipster…right?

    • MandyK said,

      November 27, 2013 at 10:35 am

      Oh Danny, why do you have to use such harsh language at me??? She’s not hipster, she’s adorkable…get it?? Dork and adorable makes adorkable…see, it’s funny…

  3. December 10, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    […] movie Elf as a duet between Buddy the Elf and his new coworker Jovie (played by my current crush Zooey Deschanel), and I think this context is a perfect picture of the innocence of the song. Buddy has no idea […]


Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

Christina Hite

Making a difference in my corner of the world

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

