Disagreeing – An Update

Credit: cazweigun2011 on Flickr via Creative Commons

Credit: cazweigun2011 on Flickr via Creative Commons

Thank you.

In the 32 hours since yesterday’s post I have been blown away by the flood of responses I’ve received. Your kind words, affirmations, willingness to stand up for the value of healthy disagreement, and love have gone far beyond healing my little wound to exploding my heart with gratitude.

One friend particularly well positioned to speak into my situation made a statement so simple I feel like an idiot for not  having thought of it myself:

“It takes two to become divisive, divisiveness is born in the heart, not our words.”

It’s ridiculous how true that statement is. I choose to be divisive when I insult or slander you, when I shove in your face my opinions about topics that will personally injure you. I choose to be divisive when I read your thoughts on something, disagree, and respond with war. I choose to be divisive when I reject you totally because we disagree about a topic.

I choose unity with you when I ask questions when we disagree…when I purposefully look for what is true or good in what you say…when I give you the benefit of the doubt…when I choose you, alternate opinions and all.

So many of you who responded have been in exactly these sorts of conversations with me. And at the end of a twenty-minute (or two-hour) impassioned debate, I’ve felt deeper love for you because you trusted me. You trusted I wouldn’t insult or reject or attack you for disagreeing with me. And I trusted you. I was able to rest in your care for me, and I wasn’t disappointed.

Maybe I just needed to be reminded how unbelievably blessed I am, to be surrounded by people who value each others’ minds so much, who love so deeply, who are so kind. You’ve all truly been Christ to me (even those of you who don’t believe in Him :).

Thank you.

Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

28 and Counting

I turned 28 and was a little overwhelmed, so I started a blog.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

