When slipping standards is a good thing

Credit: vagueonthehow on Flickr via Creative Commons

Credit: vagueonthehow on Flickr via Creative Commons

 

For several years now a friend has been trying to convince me to watch the show Chuck. I caught a few episodes with her and wasn’t impressed. It seemed like the typical action/drama series, and nothing stuck out as being unique about the show.

In all honesty, though, I will admit I’m a bit of a television snob. Or maybe “snob” isn’t the right word, since snobs generally have higher tastes than the average person. My tastes aren’t sophisticated so much as they are nerdy. I have always loved movies, because even a bad movie doesn’t require a lot of commitment. But I am so easily hooked, even into a terrible show, that for years I didn’t own a working television because I didn’t want the temptation. I never got into Lost or Grey’s Anatomy. I never even watched ER.

Then a friend took me to a movie that was actually the conclusion to the show Firefly, which was murdered prematurely by the evil that is Fox. When I loved with the film, he introduced me to the show. Obsessed really is the best word to describe those of us who become fans of Firefly. A few years later, my fan girl-ness slips out in an obscure quote which was recognized by a man who would come to be my Candy Man. He started sending me seasons of shows like Babylon 5 and Battlestar Galactica and Farscape. Suddenly I could barely keep up with all the shows I was into. My saving grace was that they were all over, so once I was done with the discs I was done.

Then current shows started to slip in. Like Eureka and Supernatural and Warehouse 13. For the first time in my life my inner geek was surrounded by encouragement and stimulation. It was glorious. However, I still wouldn’t condescend to watch “normal” shows like some muggle. Until. Until one of the characters from that very first show started in a cop series. Really? A cop drama? Fine…I mean, it’s Mal.  I had to watch.

Now there’s a handful of these weirdly normal shows I watch, and I decided that since my standards have already slipped so far I might as well try out Chuck. Turns out, it’s pretty awesome. The show has a lot of the elements I’ve come to appreciate in television storytelling. Several expressions of community amongst unlikely cohorts. A touch of science-fiction-y-ness. Spy action. Mutually unrequited love interest (yes, that’s a thing). Wit and sarcasm delivered well. Individual characters who are able to grow and adapt in ways consistent with who they were from the very first episode. This last one is a deal-breaker for me; I have given up on movies and books because of sudden drastic inconsistencies with characters.

So my new love is Chuck. I stand by the decision, clinging to the tech babble as my excuse since it’s sci-fi-ish. But if you ever see me writing a post about Cougartown or Army Wives, I beg you to intervene.

 

6 Comments

  1. Vicky said,

    January 14, 2014 at 5:21 pm

    Your dropping standards make me so happy!

    • MandyK said,

      January 14, 2014 at 5:24 pm

      I knew I’d get you to comment someday!!

  2. Adiel said,

    January 14, 2014 at 7:59 pm

    I used to watch Chuck years ago, but then sorta fell off the Chuckwagon, as it were. Between you and Gabrielle, though, I’m almost convinced to give it another try. 😉

  3. GabrielleW said,

    January 15, 2014 at 8:02 am

    I just started watching Chuck a few weeks ago. Then I got distracted by Bones, which I justify by saying it’s got all the “family of choice” markers that I love so much in a story, but Chuck is still sitting there in my queue, waiting patiently for me to come back to it. I love shows like that, that you can pick up and put down without hurting their feelings.


Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

Christina Hite

Making a difference in my corner of the world

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

