Thanks, Ricky

Credit: Thomas Atilla Lewis, Wikimedia via Creative Commons

Credit: Thomas Atilla Lewis, Wikimedia via Creative Commons

Last week, Ricky Gervais taught me something about Jesus I had never known or thought of before. The entire routine is irreverent and hilarious, but starting at 4:15 he riffs a bit on the creation of man. As I was listening, and laughing way more than is probably appropriate, I realized Gervais had made a major observation.

God spoke everything into creation. Everything until he came to man and woman. Humanity was created using elements that already existed – first dust, then rib. As many times as I’ve heard and taught and read the first chapters of the Bible, I don’t think that realization ever really struck me.

The reason this seems so significant is that Jesus was spoken into existence. When the time was right, God leaned down from heaven and allowed His very word to be wrapped up in human flesh. We are told that God’s word was made flesh and it dwelt among, lived with, taught, set free, forgave, healed us in the man Jesus Christ.

For some reason I feel like this matters. When we are told that Jesus is the first of a new creation, suddenly this makes so much more sense to me. The same power and creativity and divine energy that created the cosmos and the snow leopard and the jellyfish and the ocean and Saturn was employed to create Jesus. He was part of the creation, but more than the creation. A new creation. And when He accepts me, when I recognize that a divine mystery played out on a Roman cross and blood that was shed reconciles me to God, then I become another of those new creations. Somehow I am made of this earth, yet adopted into this eternal family with Jesus as the firstborn.

I’ve heard all this language since I was 15 years old. I’ve understood that Jesus was different, that something new happened in Him. I’ve known that being part of Him, part of His movement, somehow changes my soul’s DNA. I’ve just never really seen the connections between Adam’s creation and that of Christ, humanity’s transition from being made of dust to being breathed, spoken into existence. Figures that it would take a brilliant atheist’s stand-up routine to make me really see it for the first time.

3 Comments

  1. Adiel Gardner said,

    February 6, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    Beautiful, beautiful thoughts. Thank you for sharing them. And now I have one more reason to love Ricky Gervais. 🙂

  2. Gabrielle said,

    February 6, 2014 at 10:19 pm

    If laughing at irreverent comedy makes one a bad person then call me a sinner cause I thought Ricky’s routine was hilarious!


Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

28 and Counting

I turned 28 and was a little overwhelmed, so I started a blog.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

