Anchor me

Photo: Jyrki Salmi, Flickr via Creative Commons

Photo: Jyrki Salmi, Flickr via Creative Commons

If you want me to hear your voice

Above all the din and white noise

Through the static and sidebar ads

Despite the screeching all around us

*

If you want me to believe the things you say

In the midst of a world shouting  its lies

Despite a lifetime dodging men’s deceit

 Predisposing me to heavy suspicion

*

If you want me to rest in your strength

While my heart is fraught with trouble

And my mind reels with all these doubts

And my bones ache with vexation

*

Then speak to me in a whisper

Use simple words to tell your truths

Pull me deep into your side

Don’t let me go, even if I fight

*

For the rest of the world still turns about

Spinning its falsehoods and chaos

Bashing us all against one another

Til we are sore and bruised with the beating

*

And I don’t understand what’s happening

Don’t speak the language filing the air

My heart wanders lost, tossed on the waves

Be my anchor when I lose my way

*

So speak calmly, clearly, simply

Love clearly, without guile or game

Embrace fully, wrapping me safely

Be a quiet strength in the fray

4 Comments

  1. Barb said,

    June 23, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    “Don’t let me go, even if I fight.” Nice. IF I fight??? More like WHEN I fight. Thanks for sharing.

  2. krucks said,

    June 24, 2014 at 11:45 am

    Mandy, this was the most perfect piece for me to read at this moment. (and it has nothing to do with the impending wedding…) With your permission, I’d like to print a copy so I can keep it in my nightstand drawer and read it over when the need arises.


Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

Christina Hite

Making a difference in my corner of the world

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

