Failing one another, beautifully

I don’t have much to offer. At least, not much by the romantic standards of any of the worlds in which I live. I’ve an imperfect body that will only continue to age. I’ve a history of hurt I am still laying at the feet of a Jesus who heals. I’ve insecurities enough for us both, though I try to believe truth when their lies rage against me. I’ve a host of fears – that you’ll leave, or lie, or replace me. That I won’t be enough for you. I can’t be the perfect Christian wife, and don’t know that I want to try.

But I do have passion that burns deep and hot like the embers of a campfire still glowing in dawn’s light. I have faithfulness that can’t be shaken by any temptation that can be offered, any glittering thing or charming tongue. I have the beauty and strength of an ancient oak that has weathered the fiercest storms and still stands tall, offering shade and color and shelter through the seasons. I have wisdom to help guide you, a steady hand to hold, and a gentle word when this world won’t let up.

I’ll never be your perfect woman – however you define her. But I’ll be the best love you could have hoped for.

I know you’ll let me down. You’ll forget dates that are important to me. You won’t show up when I need you, or understand when I need to talk without fixing anything. Your silence will frustrate me, your insensitivity will hurt me. You will let me down.

But you will see me in ways I need to be seen, in all the places that feel invisible or insignificant. You’ll be my strength, the hand on the small of my back, when I’m afraid because I don’t believe in myself. You will be a voice of calm when anxiety overwhelms, and a fixed place to land when the world goes crashing about like a ship at sea. Your side will be the strong, soft place I curl into at night, your arms my safe place to run.

You’ll never be my perfect love – however I define it. But you’ll be the best love I could have hoped for.

2 Comments

  1. Barb said,

    June 27, 2014 at 9:08 am

    I may be your older, more evil twin. I will pray your best and perfect love comes along soon.


Talk to me!

Reverend Fem

Reflections on queerness, womanness, and faith all in the name of doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly.

Catherine's Hope

Finding hope in unexpected places

Ashes and sparks, my words among mankind.

I write, not to be read, but for the pleasure of writing.

Christina Hite

Making a difference in my corner of the world

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

John Blase

The Beautiful Due

pragmaticMystery

Discovering God through everyday heresy.

Beth @ Racing Robsons

♥ Love the run you're with.

Ty Paluska

Love, Hospitality, Grace, Family, & Coffee

lanelle graffis's Blog

going old school in a modern world

provoke love

michaeldanner.net

Myabishai's Blog

Scriptural insights and contemporary perspectives

jessamynluong.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

